Cradle of Texas Chapter
Brazoria County Extension Office
21017 County Road 171
Angleton, TX 77515-8903
http://grovesite.com/tamu/tmn



Minutes: General Meeting, December 12, 2007

President Ed Barrios called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

Ed informed the general membership that a donation box had been set up for anyone wishing to make a contribution to help Rich Tillman's family with expenses for his daughter Jeanne's illness. The collection will be given to Rich after the Hog Wild party this afternoon.

Ed reminded everyone of the upcoming Christmas bird counts. Anyone wishing to participate may do so, you don't need to be an expert.

San Bernard National Wildlife Refuge: Friday, December 14, Registration at the headquarters, 6:45 a.m. Brazos Bend State Park: Saturday, December 15, Meet at headquarters

Freeport Bird Count: Sunday, December 16—See Tom Morris if you are not already on a team.

Work Day: INEOS-Clearing cat tails at the pond by the education center. Talk to Carolyn May-Monie if you can participate.

Service Awards: Tom asked members from previous classes to stand and be recognized. The classes

were represented as follows: 2001-3 members 2002-5 members 2003-3 members 2004-12 members

2003-3 members 2004-12 members 2005-2 members 2006-4 members and

2007 8 members.

The following service awards were presented:

Certification: Jean Northington, Earl Roberts, Carolyn Schlein

Re-certification: Barbara Bruyere, Jean Eppner, Sandy Henderson, Monica Krancevic, Archie Pratt,

Lynne Ray, Joan Simonsen

Bronze Award (250 hours): Bill Brown, Gerald Forrest, Sandy Henderson, Monica Krancevie, Archie Pratt

Silver Award (500 hours): Dave Brandes

Gold Award (1000 hours): Neal McLain, John Boettiger

Treasurer: Jerry reported a balance of \$5308.00 as of December 1. Because of the dues, our income is up about \$1000.00 above that of previous years and we have some operating monies. Approximately 50 people have paid dues in 2007.

Election of officers: Carl Dodson, chairman of the nominating committee presented the following slate of officers for 2008:

President Dave Brandes
Vice President John Boettigner
Secretary Joan Simonsen
Treasurer Jerry Eppner
State Rep Ellis Burkhardt
Membership John Marshall
Training Laura Brandes

Kirby moved, Jim Renfro seconded that we accept the names presented on the ballot. Motion passed. There being no nominations from the floor, Mary Helen moved, Earl seconded that the slate of officers be elected by acclimation. Motion passed.

The following have accepted chairmanship of the listed standing committees:

Advanced Training Earl Roberts

Chapter Hosts Jerry Krampota and Justina Dent

Web Master Neal Mc Lain

Two committee chairs are still unfilled: Outreach and Volunteer Service. Anyone interested should contact Dave.

A drawing was held for door prized contributed by the membership.

Ed thanked the membership for all their help and support during his years as president. Jim Renfro thanked Ed for the excellent job he had done as president for the past two years.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m. so that members could attend the annual Hog Wild Christmas party.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara H. Burkhardt Secretary